Estate Group update: Powers of Attorney to apply now

Mar 25, 2020

COVID-19 has created uncertainty in our lives and it is important at times like this to take stock and review the documents we have put in place which empower others to control our affairs.

In particular, for anyone with parents or elderly family members who may be in self-quarantine, it is important to ensure that their Powers of Attorney documents are up-to-date and reflect their true wishes.

It is often the case that Enduring Powers of Attorney documents are effective only on incapacity. During times of self-quarantine, it may be that a family member or elderly parent should consider making a General Enduring Power of Attorney (without revoking existing documents and limited to this period of time) which would allow their attorneys to manage their legal and financial affairs while they are in self-quarantine.

More information

If you would like to have this put in place for a family member, please contact one of our Estate Group members below.

Sam Frey,
Principal Lawyer and 
Head of Estate Group
+61 3 8600 8885
E sfrey@kcllaw.com.au
Jennifer Maher, 
Principal Lawyer and
Accredited Wills and Estates Specialist
+61 3 8600 0710
E jmaher@kcllaw.com.au
Paul Beasant,
Special Counsel
+61 3 8600 8817
E pbeasant@kcllaw.com.au
Hayley Hunter,
Senior Associate
+61 3 8600 8806
E hhunter@kcllaw.com.au
Ainsleigh Valentine,
Associate
+61 3 8600 8826
E avalentine@kcllaw.com.au
Nicole Fedyszyn,
Lawyer
+61 3 8600 8824 E nfedyszyn@kcllaw.com.au

Author

This Estate Group update was authored by Jennifer Maher, Principal Lawyer and Accredited Wills and Estates Specialist.

Note: This update is a guide only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.

BACK